Admin Roles

Managing the admin roles for your domain

Overview

MangoApps and the content within your domain can be managed by different admins. Each admin role has different permissions. As a network admin you can grant/revoke admin permissions for users and view all the permissions associated with each admin role type in the Admin Role tab.

Admin Portal > Users > Admin Roles
  1. Admin Role Types: List of all the types of admin roles on MangoApps. Click the preferred admin role to view the list of admins, or add and grant the admin permissions to a network user, or revoke the admin permissions of an existing admin.

  2. Admin: Click the Admin tab to view all admins for the selected admin role.

  3. List of admins: List of all admins for the selected admin role.

  4. User checkbox for actions: Mark the checkbox against an administrator to revoke their permissions.

  5. Remove as Admin: Click the Remove as Admin button to revoke the admin permissions of the selected admin.

  6. Add Admin: Click the Add Admin tab to grant admin privileges to a network user for the selected admin role.

  7. Permissions: Click the Permissions tab to view all the permissions for the selected admin role.

Adding an Admin

To grant admin privileges to a network user:

Adding admins on your domain
  1. Click the preferred admin role type. For example, click Organization Admin.

  2. Click the Admin tab and then click the Add Admin button.

  3. In the Add Organization Admins pop-up, enter the network user name in the Select Users text box you want to grant the admin privileges to.

  4. Select the organization in the Organization Admin For drop-down.

  5. Click the Make Organization Admin button.

Granting admin privileges to a user sends a notification and an email to the user.

Removing an Admin

To revoke a user's admin privileges:

Removing an admin
  1. Click the preferred admin role type. For example, click Organization Admin.

  2. Click the Admin tab and then mark the user checkbox for the preferred user.

  3. Click the Remove as Admin button.

  4. In the Confirm pop-up, click the Yes button.

Removing an admin revokes the admin permissions of the selected admin.

Admin Role Permissions

Network Administrator / Domain Administrator

Network Administrators can access the Admin Portal where they can change domain-wide settings. Network admins have full administrative rights on the domain for:

  • Domain

  • User

  • Modules

  • Navigation

  • Email

  • Single Sign-On

  • Security

  • Compliance

  • Integrations

  • Branding

  • Reports

  • Analytics

  • Billing

Organization Administrator

Organization Administrators can conduct user provisioning for the users added to the organization(s) they administer on your domain. Organization admins have the following permissions:

  • User Management:

    • Invite/Add users

    • Reset a users' password

    • Activate users

    • Deactivate users

    • Edit users' profile

    • View a users' organization chart

    • Assign Groups, Projects, Departments, and Managers to users

    • Accept invitations rerouted based on a user's email address

    • Decline invitations rerouted based on a user's email address

Company Administrator / Intranet Administrator

Company Administrators can manage the Company and Department modules. Company admins have the following permissions:

  • Company Module:

    • Create, Read, Update, and Delete Company Pages

    • Create, Read, Update, and Delete Company Posts

    • Create, Read, Update, and Delete Company Announcements

  • Department Module:

    • Create, Read, Update, and Delete Departments

  • Other permissions related to Company and Department Modules:

    • Organize Pages

    • Assign Company Admins

    • Set Cover Image and Cover Photo

    • Edit Company Settings

    • Transfer Department Owner Rights

    • Import Departments from AD, and CSV

    • Export Departments

    • Create, Read, Update, and Delete Company Events

Idea Administrator

Idea Administrators act as moderators in the Idea module. Idea admins have the following permissions:

  • Idea Module:

    • Create, Read, Update, and Delete Ideas

  • Idea Campaign Management:

    • Create, Read, Update, and Delete Idea Campaigns

  • Other permissions related to Idea and Idea Campaigns:

    • Change idea status (Idea admins have permissions to manage the life-cycle of all stand-alone ideas. Stand-alone ideas are the ideas that aren't in any specific campaign. Only Campaign Managers can manage the life-cycle of ideas in a campaign)

    • Export all ideas

Team Administrator / Project & Group Administrator

Team Administrators can manage users and information on the Team they are administrating. Teams are projects and groups in MangoApps. A project or group has one creator/owner and can have multiple additional admins. User who creates a project or group, by default, also becomes the project's or group's admin. Team admins have the following permissions:

  • Team Management:

    • Create, Read, Update, and Delete Teams

  • Other permissions related to Teams:

    • Manage modules with Teams

    • Edit Custom Fields

    • Edit External Systems

    • Edit Guest Settings

    • Invite Guest Users

    • Transfer Owner Rights

    • Merge Teams

    • Allow Posts as Announcements

    • Export team data (all data, members info only, chat history)

    • Archive teams

A user MUST already be a member of the team he is going to administer before he is granted the team admin privileges.

As a network admin, you can edit the team administrator's permissions for projects and groups in the Team Admin's Permissions tab by clicking on the Edit Permissions button. Un-check the preferred setting to revoke the permission.

Did this article help? Your feedback adds value when we shape up the help articles. Hit the smileybelow to let us know!