Usage Policy

Configuring the Usage Policy for all users

Overview

The usage policy (also known as Privacy Policy) dictates what is deemed to be appropriate internet browsing behavior in the workplace. This policy typically enforces time restrictions for employees when browsing the internet for non-work related tasks as well as stipulating what genres of sites they are allowed to browse. Having a usage policy, which can also be referred to as an acceptable use policy (AUP), ensures that employees are following directives that serve to safeguard their work environment and the IT network infrastructure.

The privacy policy will cover all users who have access to the domain and will appear when users login for the first time on the web client. Network admins can enable the "Acceptance Required" property to ensure that the user provides their acceptance to the content on this page before proceeding ahead.

Privacy Policy can be configured from the Getting Started tab.

Usage Policy For All Users

If enabled, the Usage Policy is displayed to all new network and guest users on their first login to the domain in the Getting Started page.

Also, existing network and guest users are displayed the Usage Policy/Privacy Policy pop-up whenever any edits are made and saved to it by network admins.

Preview of Usage Policy for new users and existing users

FAQs

When and how are users asked to accept the usage policy/privacy policy?

For new network and guest users signing up or invited to the domain:

  • The first time a network/guest user tries to login to the domain with their login credentials.

Privacy Policy on the Getting Started page

For existing network and guest users:

  • Any updates to the content of the Usage Policy/Privacy Policy AND

  • The next time user accesses the User Portal.

Privacy Policy pop-up on the User Portal

Did this article help? Your feedback adds value when we shape up the help articles. Hit the smileybelow to let us know!