Self Destruct

Configuring the auto-delete settings for chat messages

Overview

Network admins can choose to setup automatic deletion of messages in private 1-on-1 and team Instant Messages (IM) conversations after a certain time-period.

  1. Self Destruct Chat: Select the time-period after which the system will self destruct the messages from private 1-on-1 and team Instant Messages (IM) conversations.

    • As soon as possible after all the recipients have read it: Self destruct messages from the MangoApps servers after all recipients have read it (within 15 minutes).

    • 1 hour after they are sent: Self destruct messages from the MangoApps servers in the 1 to 1.5 hours time window after the message sent time.

    • 8 hours after they are sent: Self destruct messages from the MangoApps servers in the 8 to 8.5 hours time window after the message sent time.

    • 1 day after they are sent: Self destruct messages from the MangoApps servers in the 24 to 24 hours & 30 minutes time window after the message sent time.

    • 3 days after they are sent: Self destruct messages from the MangoApps servers in the 72 to 72 hours & 30 minutes time window after the message sent time.

    • 5 days after they are sent: Self destruct messages from the MangoApps servers in the 120 to 120 hours & 30 minutes time window after the message sent time.

    • 7 days after they are sent: Self destruct messages from the MangoApps servers in the 168 to 168 hours & 30 minutes time window after the message sent time.

    • Never: Disable self destruct chat for the domain and never automatically delete messages from private 1-on-1 and team Instant Messages (IM) conversations. This is the default option.

  2. Save: Click the Save button to apply the chosen settings.

The system displays the date and time when the self-destruct settings will be effective after saving the settings.

Modifications to the Self Destruct Chat settings creates a log entry in the Audit Log.

Messages once deleted from the MangoApps servers CANNOT be recovered.

Self destruct chat warning preview on the Admin Portal and the chat window

Did this article help? Your feedback adds value when we shape up the help articles. Hit the smileybelow to let us know!