Delete Settings

Configuring the domain-wide chat delete settings

Overview

Network admins can choose to allow users to delete their messages in private 1-on-1 and team Instant Messages (IM) conversations on the domain sent via the web portal, desktop and mobile clients.

  1. Private Chat: Select the option to allow or prevent users from deleting their own messages in the 1-on-1 Instant Message (IM) conversations.

    • No one can delete messages: Select to prevent users from deleting their own messages sent in the 1-on-1 IM conversations.

    • User can delete own messages: Select to allow users to delete their own messages sent in the 1-on-1 IM conversations. This is the default option.

  2. Team Chat: Select the option to allow or prevent users from deleting their own messages in the team Instant Message (IM) conversations.

    • No one can delete messages: Select to prevent users from deleting their own messages sent in the team IM conversations.

    • Only team admins & network admin can delete messages: Select to allow only team admins and network admins to delete messages sent in the team IM conversations. Admins can delete their own and other user's messages in team IM conversations.

    • User can delete own messages: Select to allow users to delete their own messages sent in the team IM conversations. This is the default option.

  3. Save: Click the Save button to apply the chosen settings.

Modifications to the Delete Settings creates a log entry in the Audit Log.

FAQs

How can users delete their private messages?

Users can delete the messages which they have sent to other users/teams from the web portal, desktop and mobile client applications depending on the configurations in the Delete Settings.

Web Portal:

  1. Go to User Portal > Chats module page.

  2. Click the preferred private/team chat conversation.

  3. Click the(three dots) button to open the pop-up and then click Delete Specific Messages option.

  4. Mark the messages you want to delete and then click the Delete button to open the Confirm pop-up.

  5. In the Confirm pop-up, click the Delete Selected Messages button to permanently delete the messages from the private/team chat conversation.

User Portal > Chats

Can guest users delete their private/team messages?

Yes, guest users can delete the messages which they have sent to other users/teams depending on the configurations in the Delete Settings.

Can deleted messages be restored?

No, deleted messages CANNOT be restored in MangoApps, not even by network admins.

Deleting messages does NOT move the messages to the system Trash Can and permanently deletes them from the domain.

Did this article help? Your feedback adds value when we shape up the help articles. Hit the smileybelow to let us know!