Comment on page
Admins have a choice of 3 options to set up moderation for their domain. These include:
- 1.Moderate only flagged content.
- 2.Moderate comments, posts, questions and updates.
- 3.Moderate comment posts, questions and updates on which content the following words.
By default, “Moderate only flagged content” is selected.
- Team admins in their team (this is the default option): When you select this option, content posted by team admins in their teams will not be added to the moderation queue.
- Specific users: Select lists of users whose posted content will not go into the moderation queue and does not require approval or rejection.
- Specific team: Select lists of teams whose posted content will not go into the moderation queue and does not require approval or rejection.
The exception section is available only when option 2 or 3 is selected.
All content posted by Domain and Intranet admins are always exempted from moderation.
- 1.In this option, the content when posted is available & visible to the community or user portal in real time.
- 2.Any user can use the "Flag" action to add it to the moderation queue for review.
- 3.Moderator has the permission to view any content that is present in moderation queue and edit it.
- 4.Moderators can approve or decline the request.
- 1.In this option, all comments, replies, updates, questions and posts when posted are not available and visible to the community or user portal in real time.
- 2.They are available and visible to domain & moderation admins only to approve or decline in the moderation queue (admin portal).
- 3.When approved:
- User posted content is available on the community / user portal and notifications are pushed out.
- The moderation queue request moves to the approved status in the queue.
- 4.When declined:
- User posted content does not become available in the community / user portal.
- The moderation queue request moves to the declined status in the queue.
- 5.In this option, once the content is approved, the user can’t edit the content (they can still delete it).
- 1.In this option, all comments, replies, updates, questions and posts when created will be checked if they match one of the keywords.
- If a match is found, the content will not be available & visible to the community / user portal in real time.
- If a match is not found, then the content will be available & visible to the community / user portal in real time. Notifications to users will be pushed out.
- 2.If the content ends up in the moderation queue, the remaining processing on approval or decline is the same as option 2.
- 3.In this option, once the content is approved, the user can’t edit the content (they can still delete it).
In the moderation queue, a request will stay for a maximum of 60 days and after that the request is automatically removed.
- If the request is in declined state at the end of 60 days, then in addition to the request entry in queue. The content associated with it is also permanently deleted.
- If the request is neither accepted nor declined at the end of 60 days, then in addition to the request entry in queue. The content associated with it is also deleted (will be available in trash can until the trash can limit expires).
To get a list of potentially offensive words, research lists of inappropriate words on popular websites like GitHub or GitLab. There, you might find community-contributed lists you can use for your purpose. Here is an example of one such list: https://github.com/LDNOOBW/List-of-Dirty-Naughty-Obscene-and-Otherwise-Bad-Words
- The moderation module has notifications for both domain/moderation admins and the person who posted the content, keeping everyone in the loop.
- Domain and moderation admins are notified when new content is submitted for moderation.
- The user who posted the content is notified when their content is approved or declined.
- When the user posted content is pending (or rejected) in the moderation queue, the author of the content can see the items in their profile under ‘Pending Items’.
- This tab will be empty if no content of the user is in the moderation queue (in pending or rejected state).
- A user can’t see this tab for other users. They can only see it on their own profile.
Did this article help? Your feedback adds value when we shape up the help articles. Hit the smiley
below to let us know!