Trash Can

Place where all the deleted content resides until it's permanently deleted

Trash

The trash can tab displays the list of all the deleted content by any users in your MangoApps domain. When a user deletes any content on your domain, the content is first sent to the trash can as a 'soft delete.' As a network admin, you can choose to permanently delete or restore the deleted content. You can also set the preservation limit in the 'Advanced Setting' for the content in the trash can to be permanently deleted after the limit expires.

Only a network admin can restore deleted content in the trash can from the Admin Portal.

From the User Portal, only the feed creator, team admin & network admin can 'soft delete' the content from a public and private project or group or department. When a network admin or team admin deletes an item, both can choose to notify the feed creator that the content has been deleted via a notification and an email. Deleted content from unlisted groups and projects is displayed as ***** in the trash can.

Admin Portal > Home > Trash Can
  1. Trash: List of all deleted items on your domain, starting from the most recently deleted item.

  2. Advanced Setting: Set the preservation limit for your trash can. You can set the period to retain the deleted content in the trash can. By default, the preservation limit is set to 90 days. After 90 days the content is permanently deleted and CANNOT be restored.

  3. Search: Search text box to search the trash can using specified keywords.

  4. Search Filter: Search filter to view all or specific content based on the selected filter. You can choose to display the entire content using Show All or filter the content using the filters for Files & Folders, Projects, Groups, Departments, Events, Idea/Idea Campaigns, Posts, Pages, Wikis, Trackers, Quiz, Survey, Screen Share, Ballots, Chats, Office Location, and Updates.

  5. Item Name: Name of the deleted item from your domain.

  6. Deleted By: Name of the person who deleted the item from your domain.

  7. Deleted On: Deletion date and time of the item.

  8. Team: Name of the team from which the item was deleted.

Network admins CANNOT view the deleted content in the trash can. They can choose to restore the deleted or permanently delete the content.

Restoring Deleted Content from the Trash Can

To restore deleted content from the trash can:

  1. Hover over the item in the trash can you want to restore to display the Restore and Delete buttons.

  2. Click the Restore button to recover the deleted item in the domain.

Restoring a deleted item adds a log entry in the Audit log as a Restored action.

Audit log entry after restoring deleted content in the trash can

Restoring deleted content from the trash can does NOT trigger any notifications or email.

Restoring a deleted project, group or department, restores all the content (pages, files, folders and feeds) and adds a log entry for each item in the Audit log as a Restored action.

Permanently Deleting Content from the Trash Can

To permanently delete content from the trash can:

  1. Hover over the item in the trash can you want to delete to display the Restore and Delete buttons.

  2. Click the Delete button.

  3. In the Delete Permanently pop-up, type DELETE in the text box and then click the Delete button to permanently delete the item from your domain.

Permanently delete an item from the trash Can

Permanently deleted items CANNOT be recovered nor restored.

Permanently deleting an item adds a log entry in the Audit log as a Deleted Permanently action.

Audit log entry after permanently deleting content in the trash can

Deleting content from the trash can does NOT trigger any notifications or email.

Permanently deleting a project, group or department, deletes all the content (pages, files, folders and feeds) and adds a log entry for each item in the Audit log as a Permanently Deleted action.

Searching Deleted Content

You can search for deleted items in the domain using keywords and filter the content in the trash using the search filter drop-down list. To search a deleted item:

  1. Type the keyword in the Search text box. For example, type John in the Search text box.

  2. In the Search Filter drop-down list, click the search filter for the item. For example, click Events to filter the content for all deleted events on your domain.

  3. Hover over the item in the trash can you want to restore/delete to display the Restore and Delete buttons.

  4. Click the Restore/Delete button to restore deleted/permanently delete the item from your domain.

Searching deleted content using the search filter

By default, the trash can displays all the deleted items in an ascending order starting from the most recently deleted item.

Setting the Preservation Limit for the Trash Can

To set the preservation limit:

  1. Click the Advanced Setting tab to display the Set Trash Can Preservation Limit drop-down list.

  2. In the Set Trash Can Preservation Limit drop-down list, select the number of days to retain the content in the trash can. After this limit the content in the trash will be permanently deleted.

  3. Click the Set button.

Setting the preservation limit for the trash can

You can set the preservation limit to 7 days, 30 days, 90 days, 180 days or 365 days. By default, the preservation limit is set to 90 days.

There is no notifications or email when the system permanently deletes the content from the trash can after the preservation limit period expires.

Did this article help? Your feedback adds value when we shape up the help articles. Hit the smileybelow to let us know!